Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advanced connections

Posted by bobkatz 
Advanced connections
October 17, 2022 12:25AM
I purchased my Vanity Pro as soon as I heard about it in Stereophile Magazine! Wonderful product for professionals who want to audition audio surround material into the same DACs that we use to produce our productions. I am an audio mastering engineer.

I notice that the audio meters are white on black in my unit but the manual pictures them as being in color. It's not a big deal, but is there a newer hardware version with color meters?

I notice that the AES2 output has the channels reversed from the standard of C, LFE. Instead it's LFE going out the first channel and C going out the second channel. So I'll have to reverse those in my system. The meter screen shows LFE first, then C. So I wonder if I have an early unit? Hardware is version 1. Software is Sys 3. SW FPGA is 3. SW HDMI is 32. Again, I can reverse these channels in my monitoring system so it's a small nuisance, not a deal breaker :-)

PART ONE, AUDIO ISSUES:

I want to use my Apple TV as a reference device. As such, it's hit or miss whether the Apple TV will output Linear PCM decoded. In one of your FAQs you suggested setting the Apple TV to output Linear PCM but there is no direct menu with that function. There is a puzzling menu with an "auto" selection and that's about it.

For example, I can play the major TV networks from the Direct TV Stream App. These still seem to output Dolby Digital 5.1 and the Apple TV seems to read the EDID of the Audiopraise correctly as it is outputting decoded 6 channel linear PCM at 48 kHz. Great! That's a great start.

But Netflix. No sound for newer productions encoded in Dolby Atmos. Older productions in 5.1 work the same as the TV networks.

Prime video. Works for the most part.